Book Review: Shop Front

Shop Front, by Scottish author Samuel Best, is very much a book of our time.

Make Your Own Fairy Tale

Shop-Front-FINAL-196x300 Have you ever felt that some books can define a generation? Undoubtedly many books offer a social commentary of their time. Think of Dickens, Austen, Woolf. Exploring the real world through fiction has been a staple of writing since the dawn of the written word. You know the old adage – ‘write what you know’.

Shop Front, by new author Scottish author Samuel Best, is very much a book of our time. My immediate reaction upon reading it was ‘oh my God, this is my life!’ Following Ben, an English graduate, forced to move back in with his parents as he struggles to find a decent job, Shop Front encapsulates the issues that the majority of young people have to face in 2014. As I was reading the book, I found myself identifying more and more with Ben’s situation. Best has perfectly captured the frustration and sanding-away of self-confidence…

View original post 757 more words

This entry was posted in Ⓐ Hype. Bookmark the permalink.